Harrows Darts.

Flinch?
As a beginner I've learned that what my eyes are doing is critical. If my focus on the target is absolutely unwavering, I do much better.

The problem is, when I draw back and the dart gets near my face it often breaks the focus of my eyes for a fraction of a second. It's almost a flinch. Telling myself to ignore the dart is like saying "don't think about the word rhinoceros". It makes it worse.

I'd appreciate any thoughts or suggestions. Thanks in advance!
whm on Cape Cod

Sent from my Venue 8 7840 using Tapatalk
This is a tough one. To be honest this is one of the few problems I have not struggled with! You could try to bring the dart back lower but I would bet that would throw off your stroke and your accuracy would suffer. For me, I focus strongly on the target to the point that everything else blurs away. This is what I did in the military as a shooter and a sniper and I still use this when I shoot handguns or archery recreationally today. It takes practice but you can do it.

Part of it for me is the anticipation of the dart going down range. The closer I come to the draw back happening the greater my focus. All else blurs away and I never see the dart until it is almost at the board. I only see the dart when I take up my stance and get in position to throw. I like the dart to be lined up with the target but almost immediately after that the dart blurs away and all I see is my target.

Wish I had a better suggestion for you but laser focus on the target, after setting up, is the best I have. Even if I am throwing in a bar I don't hear conversation around me or even the music that is playing. I am sure ther are many more experienced darters here that might have a magic pill!
Target Taylor 9 zero soft and steel tip 

Boards: Gladiator 2 with Target Vision lighting system and Gran Board 2 soft tip with Target Corona lighting system.