Unicorn

XQMax Andy Hamilton 23g
Hi guys,

My name is Adrian and I am from Sarawak, Malaysia. I've picked up darts 3 years ago and I'm still active though I'm still bowling for the last 13 years.

This is my first time writing my reviews here. I am writing my thoughts on XQMax Andy Hamilton. First and foremost, as I have used Unicorn version, I was kind of surprised by the output since I'm into stubby design since the original Phase 5. After Phase 5, I started to use Power 95, then Red Dragon Chiefs, later on Sigma Pro 970, then to The Hammer's Unicorn set.

When I found out last year that he signed up with XQMax, the first thing in my mind was 'I would like to see how XQMax create his sets based on his preferences'. The next thing was when I saw the design in the forums here, I was like 'Oh my! I must have this!'

At least it was worth the wait for one month from the UK to here.

Enough with the chatter at the moment.

Here is the packaging

Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.

Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.

After I opened up the packaging, all I got is just a tray. For something that cost £41.65 excluding VAT, I was expecting for something at least either a leather darts wallet or a simple casing like what Unicorn, Winmau and Harrows do. I don't see either of them. Just a tray.

The sets up close. The grip wise is really aggressive, more than the maestro set.

Comparison between the 23g Unicorn version and XQMax version with Unicorn version on top. Originally it was gold coated but I didn't think it could wear out this fast after using it for at least 6 months plus and I normally practice at home every day. Also, I didn't think that XQMax version tip is much longer than the Unicorn version. Maybe Andy decides to use longer tip which is somewhere 38mm instead of commonly used 35mm? Just wondering