Darts Buddy

A Disappointment: Unicorn Core Plus Black - 26g (Beginner Brass Darts)
Thumbs Down 
I've been playing darts for about 18 months now, but I've only begun to take darts more seriously in the last 4-5 months.

As part of this new step, I've been buying various darts, of various weights, grips and styles.

Upon browsing many eBay stores (the selection on eBay is amazing!), I came across the "Unicorn Core Plus Black - Brass Darts - 26gram", and because the price was less than 10EUR, I decided to make the purchase. I was immediately drawn to their sleek look, and wanted to try something a bit heavier at 26g.

Initially after receiving them, I thought they felt a bit slippy and lacked any real grip.  But gave them a throw anyway... They weren't bad, but because of the extra weight, combined with the slipperiness, they spun all over the place when throwing. 

I had previously tried the Unicorn Core - Brass series, which have a solid knurled grip at 24g. After throwing the "Plus" model, the regular Core series seem to have way better grip.

Has anyone else had experience with the Plus - Black edition? Maybe it's my throw style - I throw as if I'm holding a pen in my right hand.

Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.
I do not know your darts, but if you want them to be less slippy, you can try removing the paint with some nailpolish remover or strong alcohol (not your grandpa's whisky...)
Match Darts: Target Phil Taylor gen 3, 22 g
Best 501:
19 darts
180s (2017):
 91/60

180s (2018): 87
180s (2019): 7

(01-16-2017, 06:48 PM)WhiskyPops Wrote: I do not know your darts, but if you want them to be less slippy, you can try removing the paint with some nailpolish remover or strong alcohol (not your grandpa's whisky...)