Shot Darts

Flying high
Greetings. I'm new to the the forum but not new to darts - well recently returned anyway in the last year. Is there a specific reason that I might throw predominantly high or high left? It's bizarre how many times I can hit T12. My miss is quite often above D20 or D5 or anywhere in the 12, am I releasing too early? If so, is there a drill I can use to improve this? I'm not completely without results (or luck). I've hit 180 once since I've been back and had 3 in the bull (at the same time) when playing cricket. I've tried various dart weights and am now committed to 25 grams, short stem and standard flight.

Any advice will be gratefully received. Thanks for looking.
Sounds like you might have too much shoulder in your throw. That is what happens to me anyway. Too much shoulder typically results in darts going high and left if you are right handed.
Target Taylor 9 zero soft and steel tip 

Boards: Gladiator 2 with Target Vision lighting system and Gran Board 2 soft tip with Target Corona lighting system. 

Thanks Ranger. I might video this and have a look. If this is the case, what can I do to quieten the shoulder movement?
(12-10-2016, 04:43 AM)Andy O Wrote: Thanks Ranger. I might video this and have a look. If this is the case, what can I do to quieten the shoulder movement?

Using a video of your throw is a great idea.   That way you can see if your are letting the shoulder come into play on your throw.  

If so, I would suggest concentrating on, and consciously trying to eliminate any shoulder movement.    You really only want to use the elbow, forearm and wrist to get the darts to the board.   You watch almost any videos of a good player like almost any of the PDC pros and their heads and shoulders hardly move even a fraction of an inch in their take back to release of their darts.
Welcome,,,,,Enjoy,,,,Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.