Shot Darts

Throwing Action Problem/Possible Daritis
Hello all,

I am looking for some advice,

I would say every 4th dart or so my arm seems to jerk to the left and this makes the dart head towards the 9 bed.

I think it may be the first signs of Dartitis but I am unsure.

It appears to be getting worse as well which is worrying.

Anybody had experience with something similar?
I've had some experience with dartitis over the years, twice as a matter of fact and what you are describing is not indicative of dartitis. When you get a bout of dartitis, it is both a mental thing that transforms into a physical thing where you want to release the dart, but for some reason, just can't. Check out some videos of Mark Webster, a PDC pro who is struggling with it now to some extent. His throw is fairly fluid for a while, but when he's being pressed by his opponent in a close match you can see him struggling with his release. He often looks like he's ready to walk to the board on every throw and his action is anything but smooth.

And it seems the more you try to overcome it by just pushing through, the worse it gets. A stray dart here than there, to me, is more a lack of concentration on your part.
Yeah I have noticed that in Mark's throw.

It is a weird one because the more I try to fight against it the worse it becomes.
As a former (knock on wood) long time sufferer of the dreaded "D" I can say you're not suffering from it, or the oncoming of such.

Overthinking the issue (paralysis by over analysis) is more the problem than anything else I'd say. Try not to think how you're going throw the dart at the target, rather focus on only the target itself. Should alleviate the issue you're having.

Question though, does this happen during practice at home/other or just in competitive matches/league as such?
Hello,

Thanks for the response.

I only really play at home on my own so I cant even blame pressure.
I keep trying other actions to alleviate the problem but to no avail.