Japanese Quality Darts and Dart Accessories shop.

RE: Changing thrown style as you progressed
Hi all,

I've been playing soft tip darts for close to 6 months now..and I noticed I've changed my throwing style.

I used to pull back my forearm slightly but not fully back like the flights almost touching my chin. But I find this throwing style require more effort and thrown strength. And my darts travel more in a straight-line but its hard for me to control my release to hit different parts of the dartboard. 

But past few days I decide to pullback more and now my throw makes less effort and my darts travel more like a lob curve because of the pullback. 

But I sort of like this style as it takes lesser effort and i find it easier to control my release to hit top, center and bottom (I mainly play cricket) numbers.

Do you guys face the same phenomenon? Also I am using a rear grip center balance Kami No.34 darts. If i am using this new style which my darts travel more like a lob, will front-loaded be more suitable?

Thanks!

Danny
Normally a loopy/lob type flight works better with a front loaded barrel that I've noticed.

That said, if the darts you're using now with your new found throwing action work then I wouldn't worry about it.  Best thing to do is when out playing see if anyone has some that are front loaded and ask if you can have a go with them and see.

All the best with your new found throwing action. :thumbup:
You can easily make your darts slightly front loaded by adding some weight in front. :-) No 34 is a longer dart, but with quite a narrow and long scallop. Is there enough space drilled in front? Personally I use different increments of lead weights to fine tune the balance of my darts.
NATURAL DARTS? https://www.dartsnutz.net/forum/showthre...?tid=22147

A beginner - always experimenting and learning. Lol! Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.