Shot Darts

Learn Your Outs: The Building Blocks Of Success
I know learning your outs sounds a bit like eating your veggies: it's something you know you should probably do more of but it's a bit of a chore.

The driver for me to get better at learning my outs were those times during league play where I'd be stood at the oche trying to work out what to do when my first dart missed its target.  I'm not the worst counter (or, clearly, the best) but under that pressure I used to generally resort to the standard tactic of "If I'm on an even I'll throw at 20's, if I'm on an odd I'll throw at 19's".  This is not a solid process and it's frustrating hitting T19 and finding out you have 34 left.

As a result of this I started practicing the outs between 61 and 100.  (I don't want this post to be a holy war about which is the best way to take out any given number although I do have views on that!)  Part of the practice was to hit the out but an equally important part was knowing which way I was going and to be able to adjust without breaking my flow.

The lightbulb moment here, which may be obvious to everyone else, is that knowing these finishes was not only useful on this particular outshot but any time I landed on that number.  Take 68 as an example.  This, for me, is as follows:

T20 leaves D4; or
S20 leaves 48 which is the 16/8 pie for D16 or tops.