Shot Darts

Cheap vs. Expensive
For throwing, not collecting.

Genuine question, not controversial!

What's the difference in a set of darts that cost say £20 and £60?

So the more you pay, generally the higher the percentage of tungsten.  Higher percentage equals greater mass, more weight in less space?  That's great, but what if you don't like throwing  6mm wide dart and prefer something that's 7.5mm....does the tungsten percentage matter??  (I'm new to this so be gentle!).

Are you actually paying for endorsements? If Phil Taylor puts his name to a set of darts, it's not for free.  So if I pay £70 for some Target's, is 30% of that going in his pocket?  Whereas if I buy some £20 darts from say Designa, I'm just paying for the R&D and manufacturing?

I've bought 5 sets of darts since I started, ranging from £15 to £55, I'm throwing best (and therefore sticking with) some that cost be just over 20 quid.

So, why pay say £70 when you can probably get a set that are almost identical for say £30.  There is only so much you can do to a dart to make it different from something else.

I'm new on here but it's something I've wondered about from day one!

Cheers, Mark
I got some rastas for 25 quid and some target carrera c4 for 50 quid...I prefer the rastas by a country mile
Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.
I just reviewed 2 sets of 95% tungsten darts that cost £10 or $14us.

They are just as good as ANY other dart on the market no matter the cost.

Darts is one of those rare sports where the term "you get what you pay for" isn't true.
(03-03-2016, 05:48 PM)Cyanide Wrote: I just reviewed 2 sets of 95% tungsten darts that cost £10 or $14us.

They are just as good as ANY other dart on the market no matter the cost.

Darts is one of those rare sports where the term "you get what you pay for" isn't true.

That's what I was thinking, and good to hear.