Japanese Quality Darts and Dart Accessories shop.

ended
Video 
ended
(01-25-2016, 10:42 PM)twiggy Wrote: hi, so i started playing darts only 3 months ago and i found a comfortable throw fairly quickly. I have tried different ways to throw but they just don't work for me. But recently i noticed i spin the dart when i throw, is this a bad thing? i can't really tell but it looks like some pro's spin it too, i might be wrong. When i try to NOT spin the dart it feels really uncomfortable. But i have a feeling spinning the dart might be making my grouping inconsistent, is it? or is it just because i'm new i'm really not sure. [Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uUp3dbQV...e=youtu.be]

I've said if before and I'll say it again, I'm a firm believer in the K.I.S.S. method of doing most things, as in Keep It Simple Stupid.

Not implying you're stupid mind you, just saying I believe the less unnecessary motion in your throw, the better for consistency.

Yes, some players darts do spin on their way to the board, but I don't think many of them rotate the dart as much as your video shows your doing it.
Get rid of that if you ask me...I see no practical use of it, spinning the dart into place, so you have a better grip is one thing - what you do, seems unnecessary and not really productive.
I am spinning the dart too and in my case it gives the dart a much more stable flight. But on the other hand, when you don't spin the dart exactly the same every time you throw, it will be an inconsistent part of your game. So I think you can keep spinnig your dart because you feel comfortable with it, same with me, and just keep practising until your throw gets consistent. The most important thing ist that you always have fun while practising! Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.