Japanese Quality Darts and Dart Accessories shop.

Tridents
I've been using Tridents for a few months now, and while they do significantly increase the longevity of your flights,  I have noticed some truly bizarre behaviour.  With no other setup have I seen this happen, and it happens quite a bit.

I have noticed this: With a dart already in the board, a second dart can hit the flight of the first dart in such a way that the second dart is and literally launched 6-8 feet away from the board! As if the dart in the board is a spring board. 

To make things worse, it appears to me that the deflections with tridents *may* be worse than without. Without the trident I suspect that the following dart will damage the dart in the board and push its way through. With the trident, the dart in the board springs the follower into a neighbouring segment.

Perhaps switching to spring steel points will help decrease deflection distance?

Has anyone else noticed more deflection distance with a trident installed?

( I suppose that I could sacrifice a set of flights by taking a trident off a dart and seeing if that dart deflects as badly as the others....)
Nope - try storms.
(01-13-2016, 09:04 PM)BigE Wrote: I've been using Tridents for a few months now, and while they do significantly increase the longevity of your flights,  I have noticed some truly bizarre behaviour.  With no other setup have I seen this happen, and it happens quite a bit.

I have noticed this: With a dart already in the board, a second dart can hit the flight of the first dart in such a way that the second dart is and literally launched 6-8 feet away from the board! As if the dart in the board is a spring board.