Harrows Darts.

how to tell someone they are playing wrong?
hello everyone! its been a while since I posted anything but I have an issue and im not quite sure what to do about it but you guys have always helped me in the past so I figured I would give it a shot. even if I don't get an answer that will help me at least I know you guys can sympathize with me and make me feel like im not crazy.

ok so my wife and I have only been playing darts for about 14 or 15 months or so. but in that time we both have put in a lot of hours practicing and learning. one of the things I started focusing on almost immediately was learning my check outs because the way I figured it was that if I studied and practiced the checkouts it will definitely win me a few games here and there that I probably shouldn't have won just for the fact that I didn't have to stop and look at the chart with every dart. and believe me it has won me a few. the problem Im having isn't with me, its with a teammate of mine. to say that his checkout philosophy is odd would be an understatement. his checkouts are not only not winning him games but its actually costing him games.

for instance, we were playing doubles a week or so ago and I left him 92 to go. so he tosses in the general direction of 16 and misses outside, then tosses again and hits single 16, then stops...figures out what he has left and throws at 20 and hits 5. so after he threw I asked him what the hell he was throwing at. he then tells me his checkout was D16, S20, D20. I sat there absolutely stunned. I didn't know what to say to that. he does that kind of thing all the time, just not maybe to that extent. that was absolutely the weirdest thing I have ever heard of coming from someone that has years of experience playing. that was just stupid, no other words describe it.