Cuesoul

Tune those darts!
OK.  So I am sure that this is rudimentary to many on this forum, but something I have just begun to tinker with.

For the last few months I have struggled with inconsistency.  Throw at the 20 and hit a 5.  Or worse yet, a 12.  Could just as easily be a 1.

After watching my dart flight, I noticed a distinct cork screw motion.  And, of course, I had varying angles of impact to the face of the board.  I worked hard on my release, stroke and even tried different ways of holding the darts.  None of which really improved my game.

After waiting far too long, I finally did what so many here do routinely.  I started playing with different flight and stem combinations.  I am currently throwing Target Phil Taylor 9zeros in soft and steel tip.  What I have found is that, in my case, they fly best when fitted with short stems and pear shaped flights.  Once I tried this combination (after going though probably 5 or 6 other combinations) the darts immediately straightened out and flew like, well, darts!  Another change I made was to use the hard synthetic tips for my steel board.  They are manufactured in Japan and I do not have the box with me at work and cannot recall the name (maybe L Style?).  This moved my soft tip and steel tip set ups closer in overall weight and weight distribution.