Japanese Quality Darts and Dart Accessories shop.

'Game on' Struggle.
Hello peops, little intro before I ask the question.

I'm 16 and have been playing darts since I was 5 as my dad gave me a old dart board and some of his old darts.

I started playing properly in a league with my team when I was 12, started off great with my dad and his mates coaching me along the way, and for the next few years I was the 'up and comming' of the league, and the last year I have started playing crap, I switched darts and then started pulling my darts, so I switched to heavier darts, but that didn't work and I got even worse, and when I play my singles game, I struggle a lot as I always think 'I have to do better' as my dad always said I can do better and could beat anyone.. blah blah...

Practicing I'm fine, I can hit the trebels and doubles no problem, but when I play in a league singles match or competition, my first three darts are fine, then I tend to loose it and they go all over the place, I try to relax and think what I'm doing wrong and try and correct it, but it doesn't work. Any suggestions?

If you need more info please ask, as my rep is going down and I want to get back on the winning streak.

(I practice 5 days a week and for about 1 hour a day, play league matches twice a week)
First of all, you are not alone. I'm 40 years older than you and have recently begun showing the same struggle that you have. In my case, it is self imposed... *I* expect to shoot better than I do because *I* said I should. That pressure just wrecks everything.

I can imagine in your case, where your dad made you think 'you can do better and could beat anyone', the pressure must be immense.

First things first.... I can hit a 180.. I hit several every week.... *should* I hit one every time? Thinking I *should* hit heavy every time out is not right. When you fail, you think you have to hit even heavier now, so you tighten up and fail again and again and again.... the struggle begins.