Darts Buddy

Sid's greatest quotes
Sid Waddell left us three years ago on August 11 but his legacy remains with some of the greatest pieces of sports commentary ever.

What was your favourite ever Sid Waddell line?

That's the debate fans have had about the Voice of Darts, whose linguistic lunacy delighted millions throughout his brilliant career. Here's some of our favourites...

"William Tell could take an apple off your head, Taylor could take out a processed pea."

"Even Hypotenuse would have trouble working out these angles."

"He's too fast for his own good. It's like an octopus with toothache; you start thinking about your mouth instead of your feet. Too many moving parts."

"I was a pro, but my darts just never went in."

"As Freud said to Jung in Vienna, you can psych up too much for a darts match."

"Phil Taylor went to see a psychologist and was told if he wants to get psyched up he should listen to Oasis. I reckon darts fans will get a Tungsten Supernova."

"It's like trying to pin down a kangaroo on a trampoline."

"When Alexander of Macedonia was 33, he cried salt tears because there were no more worlds to conquer... Bristow's only 27!"

"If we'd had Phil Taylor at Hastings against the Normans, they'd have gone home."

"He looks about as happy as a penguin in a microwave."

"That was delicate like a surgeon near a delicate area."

"Big Cliff Lazarenko's idea of exercise is sitting in a room with the windows open taking the lid off something cool and fizzy."

"They're sweating like a pair of giraffes coming up to a mirage water hole."

"He's about as predictable as a wasp on speed."

"That could have landed on the pupil of a fly's eyeball."

"The atmosphere is so tense, if Elvis walked in with a portion of chips, you could hear the vinegar sizzle on them."

"This is super-calla-non-fragile-ballistics."

"This game of darts is twisting like a rattlesnake with a hernia!"

"The gloves are off now. I hate clichés, but I've got to use them sometimes..."