Shot Darts

Does it count?
The other night in league play, my opponent had a flight pop off and his dart reversed and stuck in the board stem first. This actually happened twice.

There was a bit of controversy about whether or not it counted. Does the point, specifically, have to be in the board or does it still count the odd time that something like this happens?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
- If it don't fit, force it.  If it breaks, it needed replacing anyway.
- If it ain't broke, you might still be able to fix it.

"Maintain a solid 60.  What you do with your other two darts is up to you" -Unknown

My match darts:  22gm Bulls White Pegasus, intermediate nylon/Target Carbon Ti Pro stems, Rhino standard flights.
Reply
the point has to touch the board, not be in the board. So no it wouldnt have counted.
Reply
I agree
Reply
They speeketh the truth. Point has to be touching a scoring area to count.

Also should mention that your league should have a set of rules and regulations available to all players to give a definitive answer to such questions. Not sure how big your league is, but ours has a website that has an area that covers all rules of play that pretty much covers any problems that may arise in a game.
Reply
Is it soft tip?

The rule is that if the machine awards the point, then so be it.

I had a similar argument when the opponent's dart hit the outer rim of the board and awarded the opponent a win. Faulty sensors especially on old soft boards decide the outcome of the game.

There are also instances when you hit the Bulls and there is no score that registers. Thus you have to agree with your opponent if he will grant you permission to push the stuck darts to register a point. Some players don't allow this.
Reply
Good points Majeek. Steel tip is so ingrained in my mind that I never even thought of soft tip and their little quirks of when a dart hits the scoring area whether it falls out or not registers a score.

I don't even know where there is a soft tip machine in this area of the world unless in someone's house. I can't think of 1 bar that has them to be honest.
Reply
(12-17-2014, 11:54 PM)gumbo2176 Wrote: Good points Majeek. Steel tip is so ingrained in my mind that I never even thought of soft tip and their little quirks of when a dart hits the scoring area whether it falls out or not registers a score.

I don't even know where there is a soft tip machine in this area of the world unless in someone's house. I can't think of 1 bar that has them to be honest.

Count your blessings Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.

P.S Just post your address and you'll see them pop up all over the place
Dorian
Son of Merlin

Caerleon - Wales

(Mission "KURO" M4 rear taper design- 23GmYellow Kite Shape Flights 100 micron & Solid Brass Stems)

Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.

My father Merlin, once told me that "You should end up pointing to what you were aiming at when you've released the Dart."




Reply
Doesn't count. When in doubt I go by the rules the pros use.

https://www.pdc.tv/staticFiles/b6/b3/0,,...078,00.pdf
Reply
It was steel-tip. It would be very odd for a soft-tipper to get a dart in the board stem first.

I agree with everyone, though the point should be in the board (I think/believe), at least separating sisal.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
- If it don't fit, force it.  If it breaks, it needed replacing anyway.
- If it ain't broke, you might still be able to fix it.

"Maintain a solid 60.  What you do with your other two darts is up to you" -Unknown

My match darts:  22gm Bulls White Pegasus, intermediate nylon/Target Carbon Ti Pro stems, Rhino standard flights.
Reply
Nope, the dart can hang from its flight between two darts, but if the point touches the board it counts.
Reply
Quote:It would be very odd for a soft-tipper to get a dart in the board stem first.

It does happen In soft darts where the stem or the flights hit the board first and makes a point.

I've seen them happen a lot of times.
Reply
Majeek, I think he is saying the dart wouldnt actually stick in.
Reply
Heres the pic I found but couldnt remember. From OreoGaboreo:

its a 140
Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.
Reply
Hello mate, only the points count Guests cannot see images in the messages. Please register at the forum by clicking here to see images.
Reply
Only the points in steel tip darts i know count .
Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Loxley Darts.