Shiny fingers
Hi I am a baker and have had my hands in and out of a hot over for 1 6 years ,my thumb and fingers have gone smooth ,do you think grip powder or wax would help
(05-30-2020, 03:52 PM)Beetlejuice170 Wrote: Hi I am a baker and have had my hands in and out of a hot over for 1 6 years ,my thumb and fingers have gone smooth ,do you think grip powder or wax would help

It could help, you need to try different things, see what works for you.  Also, the type of grip on the dart itself, maybe even a scalloped dart.  You will need to be a bit of an experimenter, see what works for you.
I am not sure, I have contact dermatitis on my hands from repeated hand washing and detergents (linked to my old job).

It might possibly help, but, you might be stuck with using them, once you start, as part of your darts routine.

My own finger tips seem quite oily, even though my palms are very dry (sometimes I get an odd dart slipping (ie) the odd wonky dart, due, to them slipping, slightly, during the throw, more so, with smooth darts, I can usually tell, when that happens even before it hits the board). I tend to live with it, so, as not to overly change my throw, because, for me darts is mostly about finger tip feel.

An emollient might also, help, but, might also eventually become part of your routine (a bit of a guess, but, I expect flour and water might dry hands out, due, to leeching oils).

It might be worth trying a variety of different dart grips, as well. I think, I would probably go that route first, especially, if your hands arent causing you any other problems (I have previously been prescribed an emollient for mine, due, to having cracked skin). Because, it might mean adding extra complication and / or could alter your feel / throw.

I think everyones throw is different, but, needs to be consistant in order to improve, or, even to remain the same, due, to that reason, what ever you do may well become a permanent change, if it works for you.