Broken Point Removal Technique
Hello,

(This is my first time posting on the darts nutz forum so apologies if this is in the wrong place or a duplicate thread, I couldn’t find a broken point topic when searching.)

I just wanted to share with you guys something that worked for me when removing a snapped off broken point.

I unfortunately snapped off (flush) a target storm surge point that I was using whilst playing with my Phil Taylor unicorn phase 2 darts.

I was frustrated because Darts corner are working with a skeleton crew and they are unable to fix broken points while covid19 is dominating the world. (No fault of there own, darts corner are fantastic!)

So I searched online and found a method of using Alum powder and boiling water.

I used 200g of Alum powder (Bought from Amazon: ‘fatakdi powder, alum powder - £2.56 per 100g’. I mixed it with boiling water and dropped the dart in an aluminium pan (since the powder corrodes steel I 100% recommend buying an aluminium pan to avoid complete disaster. I bought the pan from amazon for £9.99 - kitchen king super alu milk pan).

I checked the pan periodically whilst it was constantly boiling ensuring that the dart was submerged at all times. After around 6 hours of boiling the point had dissolved, I removed the dart, gave it a wipe and fitted it with new points and have been using them ever since.

The powder doesn’t damage the dart From what I can tell and now I’m about to try the method on some 36g Winmau Vendetta darts which has a snapped point. I have a feeling this may take longer as the point sticks out a lot more but it isn’t grippable.

Anyway, I just wanted to share with you guys a good way of rescuing a dart in the current climate.

Cheers
Lots of discussion on broken points to be found on the forum - each a little different in focus.  In our Quick Reference Guide we simply link to Custom Made's excellent article.  But plenty more that's for sure. Wink