playing myself into a slump
Hey guys,

i started playing 3 years ago. in the early 2020 i decided to join a dartsclub.i love the game and i am very motivated to improve. But sometimes im manovering myself into a slump where i feel no confidence at all. My main problem is, that i cant really stick to a specific throw over a long time. when i have some bad nights, i start to change little things in my throw and it starts getting into my head. 

Best example:

Yesterday i tweaked around again and had a great training session. I was throwing multiple tons, and a few 140ies, even a 180, which i rarely throw. I was very happy that i was able to throw the darts for a whole night the same way. I went to bed and wanted to repeat this today. Since i tweaked some tiny details the night before, i wanted to do it the same way. But it took me forever to warmup and getting the darts where i wanted them to go. finally i played some 301 DO to get on doubles often. My average was around 35-40. This damn average does not want to get better (overall around 40-45). When i started to play darts i threw the same average after a month. I know im way better now in terms of check out ways and throwing style, but i cant feel the real improvement i'd like to see in the numbers.

What do you suggest? Im overthinking many things i guess.
You said it in the last sentence I'd say.

cheers...
I think the problem most people have with darts is that the gains usually come in small increments over a long period of time and the losses of form seem to happen overnight----at least in most players minds. That leads to frustration and tinkering which can lead to more frustration and tinkering.

You're not alone in what you're going through and I dare say it has happened to most players at some time or another. That is why there are so few players that can make a good living at this game.