Height practice
Hey nutz,

still being a beginner, I find it much easier to have my darts hit in the right direction than to get them to the right height.
Is there any additional practice routine I could use to remedy that, other than focus, throw, repeat?
Currently throwing: Harrows Atomic 22g
Skill level: Truly terrible
You are lucky. I struggle with left to right drift. For variety, you might want to work on top to bottom type drills. Double 20, Bull, Double 3. Incorporate triples, etc. I say this because double 6 will not help if you are good left to right but struggle up and down.

I am sure someone will chime in with a solid explanation about releasing at the same point each time, consistent elbow position and consistent anchor point. All of which, in my experience, can easily affect how high or low your darts hit. Another thing to look at is the angle of the darts in the board. If the entry angle is not consistent, the darts might be porpoising (tail moving up and down on the way to the board) a lot after you release and this can cause them to drift high or low, especially when combined with other inconsistencies in the throw.

Final thought is to make sure you are throwing with the same power each time. If you have a softer throw, it is very easy for a little variation in the force of your throw to cause the darts to drift because you already would have a fairly significant arc compared to someone who naturally throws harder.
Target Taylor 9 zero soft and steel tip 

Boards: Gladiator 2 with Target Vision lighting system and Gran Board 2 soft tip with Target Corona lighting system.