Darts Nutz Darts Forum

Full Version: Soft tip board question & recommendations
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, kindof darts newbie here. I've obviously played in pubs before but not had a board at home so thought I'd get one whilst I was working from home with all this going on!

As I have a small child and pets I was informed that I wasn't allowed steel tipped darts in case I maimed any of them! So opted for a super cheap soft tip board to test the waters and see whether I would actually play it much, the one I bought was the unicorn non electronic one.

This worked surprisingly well although the board does feel a little cheap and the darts that came with it were OK actually as it wasn't the usual plastic ones but they only weighed 10g. After a few weeks I decided to upgrade the darts to hopefully get a bit more consistency so went for some dark thunder v2 ones as saw some good reviews. Unfortunately they are obviously too heavy for my cheap board so was wondering what people would recommend?

I've seen the gran board 3s can handle 18g darts but it seems pretty expensive considering I've just started and I can only find it abroad currently, and not overly bothered about the online stuff atm although might be one day when I'm a bit better!

Are there any other soft tip boards that people would recommend that would handle 18g darts and not be too expensive or should I use a standard board, if so, which would people recommend? 

Thanks for any help!