Darts Nutz Darts Forum

Full Version: BDO EGM called
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
Seems the vote of no confidence/takeover by the Jacklins is happening for 1st April - unfortunate coincidence with the date lol, although I can't see them doing a worse job than the current board of directors have done

[Image: 0WqAGOb.jpg]
I'm very new to darts (I saw the premier league live in cardiff back in 2015, but have only seriously followed the PDC and the BDO since Christmas last year) but to my limited exposure this seems like a good move. The BDO needs to re invent itself, watching the worlds at lakeside it really did just seem like a second (or perhaps even third) rate PDC. If I were in charge I'd try and push the aspects of it that make it differ from the PDC, a bit more promotion of the womens stuff and perhaps a bit more focus on the players nationalities rather than the individual characters.

I think there's appeal in a more traditional competition like BDO, but it seems to be awkwardly stuck between being traditional and trying to be the PDC. Perhaps it should look to stay on the traditional route and properly embrace being the second tier competition of the PDC and have an amalgamation of some kind (which to my limited understanding seems unlikely given the rift).
I think it may be to late.hearn has made the pdc into a monster and it's getting bigger.Bdo I don't think will ever compete now pdc is going full on Germany,America, and more.
Any chance that the meeting will be live streamed? I wonder what the octagon looks like  Big Grin Big Grin
The BDO shouldn't be in competition with the PDC. There's a place for an elite, professional organisation (clearly PDC) and a grass-roots amateur organisation which is where the BDO has to position itself.